Tags

, , , , , , ,


I found a corn store yesterday. Exciting or what? Well I almost screeched to a halt, my good wife was not so impressed and informed me that we only had 10 minutes spare to get where we were going which was Aubeterre sur Drome.Corn Store7

So this corn store is a few kilometres north of Aubeterre and thus in the Charente countryside. I did a blog about old corn stores some while back and asked if anyone knew where there are any. This is an old-fashioned way of storing maize on a relatively small-scale for use by the farmer during the winter to provide food for his poultry.

I-Spy On a car journey in FRANCE

I-Spy On a car journey in FRANCE

It is featured in the I-Spy On a car Journey in France book  of which I am a proud owner and if you see one you get 5 points which you can double up if it contains maize cobs. A measly 5 points!!  is that all I have been keeping an eye out for corn store for years and all I get is 5 points. You get 10 points for a vineyard! surely a corn store must be worth at least 20 points.

OK a bit sad, but these stores did used to be a feature of the countryside and you did see them quite often. Now things have changed and as they were usually constructed from wood and a bit of chicken wire they have rotted and rusted away.

This one is more substantial and made of metal, it looks like it may still be in use, you can see some small maize plants growing at the base, suggesting that seeds had spilled out from cobs stored there last winter and have self-sown.Corn Store2

So if you know of any, especially if they are constructed of wood, then do let me know or better still photograph it and send it to me. Then you too can score 5 points from I-Spy  If you can accumulate 1000 points or more you can send off for an I-Spy badge. You have to ask and adult to check your score though before you send off for the badge.

5 points! for a corn store.

5 points! for a corn store.

