Tags

, ,


This is a book I have read recently and it’s not bad. I am not a great reader, I often have a book on my lap but it’s normally a reference book. I have read a few books related to life in France and I saw this on my sister-in-laws bookshelf. Drinkwater1We were staying at her house for a few days whilst she took her annual holiday on the Isle de Re.  We look after the house, water her plants and pop in to check on my aging mother in law who lives in the same town. So I had some time on my hands and a light read was a good way to pass the time.

Carol Drinkwater is perhaps best known for being in the Vet series in the 1970’s but she has done lots of other stuff including writing several books. This is the sort of book that many people aspire to write. It is about buying an old place in France and doing it up and making something of it.  Many of us have the experiences and could write a similar book, if we could write well. Then you would have to get it published and as there are no doubt many books in this vein I expect that would be quite difficult. Less so if you are already famous.

I know that many of you follow Carol Drinkwater’s progress as she has a Facebook page called Olive Farm and she is one of my ‘friends’ and is also a ‘friend’ of many of you who are also my ‘friend’. The advantage of Facebook from my point of view is that whenever I put a post on this blog, all of my ‘friends’  are informed. So if you want to be updated about my posts you could ask to become my ‘friend’ I call myself Poitou Charentes  so when I log in it says to me ‘Hello Poitou’

Back to the book, it is OK, I became a little bored with it about a quarter of the way in but then some interesting story lines develop and it’s not exactly a rip-roaring yarn but I got to the end of it which is a compliment as that is not always the case. I approved of the anti racist thread that ran through the book. It is set in the very south of France not far from Cannes and so there are a lot of North African migrants in the area which Carol has various contacts with. One thing I did have a minor problem with is that occasionally she  refers to a plant by its scientific name, which is good but she gives both parts of the name a capital letter and as all scientists know it is a capital for the genus name and a small letter for the species name. So its Homo sapien not Homo Sapien . I know it’s a bit pedantic and I am not the best when it comes to grammar, but it just niggled a bit.

I have a list of books that I have read and which are relevant to life in France, so click BOOK LIST to see others, it’s not a very long list.

