Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


The Foire at Rouillac is held every 27th of the month so 12 times a year. It is one of the biggest in the region and well worth a visit, It spreads throughout the streets and there are lots to see and buy.

Not only is there a vast array of local produce but there is also an animal market so you could purchase a couple of chickens and start your own egg production, or cut to the chase and have fresh chicken for dinner that night. When I lived in Nigeria that was the only way to eat chicken…. Buy it, kill it, prepare it, cook it, eat it.imagesrouillac

The market is said to go back to Medieval times and I see no reason why not. For a full list of all markets in Poitou-Charentes visit Market days where they are all listed.

The photo to the left is not one of my own but I will soon be making a visit to Rouillac and then will present you with a full gallery of my own photos, please bear with me.

Also there is a good blog with a page about Rouillac by  the Chez Gautier cooking school which you might want to have a look at

For a list of other events in this region visit Whats on in Poitou-Charentes

