Tags

, , , , ,


I remember- and wonder if you do as well- old corn stores where farmers used to store corn or maize cobs through the winter. I often saw these 30 or 40 years ago when driving through France. I have a reference to them in a fairly old I Spy France book which in itself must be 20 years old and in that book it says they were a thing of the past.

I-Spy On a car journey in FRANCE

I-Spy On a car journey in FRANCE

I did see a couple about 3 years ago somewhere in the south of France. However the one which was in use i.e had corn in it was a metal construction and the other one which was old fashioned and made of wood  was empty.

I have had a look on the internet for any photos and came up with this one. It is actually in Slovenia but it illustrates the type of thing I am on about.

So does anyone know where one of these still exists in Poitou-Charentes? I suspect there were hundreds of them 40 years ago.  If you know were one is still standing then please let me know.   Thank you.

