Tags

, , , ,


Its nothing to do with Eric, the Manchester United footballer and so-called philosopher. Although when we traveled to the coast along the road from Melle towards St Jean d’Angely and passed by the Abris  Cantonnier and my son was much smaller than he is now I did say that the sign was to mark the birth place of the famous man. He was at that time playing for Man United, Eric that is not my son…..

There are road menders shelters in other parts of France, but I do not know of any others in Poitou-Charentes. Do you and if so please let me know where they are. I think it is somewhat surprising that they are not more common. One often sees the typical French road with line of trees on either side, indicating that this road had been around for some time so why not shelters for the road menders every so often?

